Facebook Instagram linkedin YouTube
Sentence of the Day

General Surgery

About the Department / Program
The Department of General Surgery was started in 1986 with Prof. A Umapathy at its helm. It currently has bed strength of 240, 8 surgical units, 16 postgraduates per year and 2 neurosurgery M Ch postgraduates every year.

The Department has been headed by stalwarts of Surgery who have also held administrative posts of Dean and Vice Chancellor. The current HOD is Prof. K. Balaji Singh who is also the Dean of students, Prof. A. Ravi is the Internal Quality Assurance Cell(IQAC) Chairman, Prof. Ramya, Chairman MEU, and Dr. Naveen Alexander, Assistant Dean of Students.

The Strength of the Department is its faculty with 9 professors, 5 associate professors, 11 assistant professors and 8 senior residents. It has the lowest attrition with the longest serving members from the department of General surgery committed personnel with teaching, surgical expertise and pioneers in the ever developing field of surgery. It has the highest number of the fellows of the Royal College of Surgeons, a bench mark in the surgical society of India. The department also has the International coordinator as a Professor Emeritus Shivadavamani. The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow, a prestigious institute, has signed an MOU with SRMC to make it a centre in MRCS coaching/Examination with Examiners from our own department.

Each member of the faculty undergo refresher course and update periodically with most of them acquiring fellowships in their specialty of choice including laparoscopy.

The faculties have an impressive presentation in national /International conference and publication in indexed journals.

They are also invited from various universities in India for continuing Medical Education and are also examiners in various universities across India including National Board.